The Sorcerer's Conspectus:

A comprehensive view of Andre Norton's Witch World

by Lotsawatts

Four from the Witch World

A Collection of Original Stories for the [Witch World Saga]

Edited by Andre Norton 

See Also: [Martinez ~ Glossary] [Martinez ~ Races] [Schlobin ~ Survey] [Coulson's Index - see: The Stillborn HeritageStormbirdsRampion and Falcon Law]

[Expanded Reading Order] [Bibliography Page] [Read it Here] [Return to Contents]


Edition Used for Analysis:

(1991) Published by TOR, PB, 0-812-51006-2, 978-0-812-51006-5, LCCN 88-29170, $3.95, 275pg ~ cover by Victoria Poyser 


Andre Norton, the bestselling grandmaster of fantasy, has commissioned four of today's most outstanding young fantasy authors to join with her in creating a quartet of short novels set in “one of fantasy's most enduring world settings," (Library Journal), her Witch World. C.J. Cherryh, Hugo Award-winning author of numerous fantasies such as her Margaine books and Merovingian Tales is one of the surest writers of rousing fantasy adventure, as her "Stormbirds" will prove to new readers; Elizabeth H. Boyer, author of authentically researched northern tales, creates a fascinating and utterly spellbinding tale of strange powers and the human bonds that sometimes shape them, in her haunting “Stillborn Heritage"; Meredith Ann Pierce. the brilliant young author of such richly inventive works as The Darkangel, and The Woman Who Loved Reindeer has woven a complex tapestry of love and hatred set in a barren seahold which is nearly bankrupt; and Judith Tarr, Crawford Award-winning author of passionately intense fantasy trilogies such as the medieval The Hound and the Falcon and the high fantasy Avaryan Rising has created a memorable new drama in her falconers-and-magic classic, “Falcon Law."
Each of these short novels is very much a part of the living Witch World tradition; each is infused with a special touch of the magic and wonder of Andre Norton's creation. Yet the authors also have imbued these tales with their own special magic, and the result is an exquisite volume of unique fantasy entertainment.


  • Ix~ Introduction by Andre Norton
  • 72~ Stormbirds (na) by C. J. Cherryh
  • 125~ Afterword (aw) by C. J. Cherryh
  • 126~ Rampion (na) by Meredith Ann Pierce
  • 197~ Afterword (aw) by Meredith Ann Pierce
  • 198~ Falcon Law (na) by Judith Tarr
  • 272~ Afterword (aw) by Judith Tarr
  • 273~ Biographical Notes (bg) Misc. Material

[Return to Contents]

Formatted and Edited by Jay Watts ~ May, 2022

Copyright ~

Duplication of this collection (in whole or in part) for profit of any kind NOT permitted.

Open menu